#4 BOOK REVIEW: THE SLEEPOVER BY SAMANTHA KING

TITLE: THE SLEEPOVER
AUTHOR: SAMANTHA KING
PUBLISHER: PIATKUS, LITTLE, BROWN BOOK GROUP UK
PAGES: SOURCES: NETGALLEY
FORMAT: Ebook
PAGE: 288 PAGES

MY THOUGHTS:

Have you ever read a book that even though it’s a thriller it doesn’t feel like one? This one a living proof. It’s like I’m walking to someone else true story. Apart from it’s being a fictional character. It remains true to the real world – what actually, critically happened to our society today. Also, you must realize it by now that I extremely love cleanliness even if in the world of a thriller. I need to give a credit to the author as it takes effort to make sure your book can be read even by an underage. It also proofs that you really don’t need to Insert all those X-rated scenes or foul language to make a point of how good the book is in order to pull the reader in.

Back to the novel. It’s seriously one gripping, twisted with unpredictable characters and storyline. I kid you not. As for the early pages, my mind was somewhere else and it takes me slow to get into the story and I wondered what’s with that. But then, things start to get chaotic. I mean what could go wrong with a sleepover?? And when it does, it’s every mother’s nightmare. I don’t expect things could turn the way it turns out. I’m mad you know, I feel like slapping the one at fault.

It feels so unbelievable but it could happen and already does. It makes me extremely awful to know that as a parent there are so many things that we might not acknowledge with our children, their world, who they friend with, and what they do on a daily basis. And I pray so that as a parent, we’ll come to understand the right way to be a parent so that kids feel open to us at anything they wanted.

Thank you so much to Netgalley and publisher for sending the eARC in exchange for an honest review.

RATING: 5/5 🌟

BOOK BLURT:

It was meant to be the best night of her son’s life . . .

Was it his last?

Izzy is thrilled when her shy, 12-year-old son is invited for his first sleepover. Nick has spent years being isolated and picked on; he deserves a night of fun and friendship.

But Izzy is also nervous: it’s a year to the day since bullies put Nick in hospital. She drops him off at his new best friend’s house with mixed feelings. Arriving to collect him the following morning, her worst fears come true . . .

Nick isn’t there.

Who has taken her son?

And will she ever get him back?

A gripping and emotional psychological thriller perfect for fans of Karen Cole’s Deliver Me, Lesley Kara’s The Rumour and Nuala Ellwood’s Day of the Accident. From the Top Ten ebook bestselling author of The Choice.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.